Electroacoustic Music Studio

History and activity

Electroacoustic Music Studio (SME) is a unit of Composition Department. It was founded in 1973 by Józef Patkowski, as the first didactic facility of that kind in Poland and the second major national center for electronic music since opening of the Polish Radio Experimental Studio in Warsaw.
At the beginning the Studio’s activity was based mostly on the analog E.M.S. equipment.The main educational objective was initiated by Józef Patkowski in 1974: 2-years Electronic Music Course for the Composition, Conducting, and Music Theory students. In the 90-ties the Computer-based Aural Training course, as well as the advanced Computer Programs Courses for all students of the Music Academy were created.

Studio’s facilities were explored by the faculty as well as many invited composers: Dennis Anderson, Marcos Battistuzzi, Mateusz Bień, Marek Chołoniewski, Marcel Chyrzyński, Gloria Coats, Martin Davies, Magdalena Długosz, Anna Dudzińska, Hector Fiore, Bartłomiej Gliniak, Piotr Hałasa, Eero Hameenniemi, Ryan Ingebritsen, Kerry Kenny, Michail Kirkoff, Krzysztof Knittel, Hanna Kulenty, Hye-Won Lee, Charles Lipp, Enrique Macias, Anna Maciejasz-Kamińska, Mehdi Menjiqi, Mario Arenas Navarrette, Keir Neuringer, Andrea Pensado, Eugeniusz Popławski, Kazimierz Pyzik, Isidore Rudnick, Józef Rychlik, Bogusław Schaeffer, Pekka Siren, Joanna Stępalska, Paweł Szymański, Ewa Trębacz, Joanna Wnuk-Nazar, Barbara Zawadzka, Anna Zawadzka-Gołosz, Lidia Zielińska, and Paweł Zioło. The Studio has also been involved in the production of music for film, theater, television, and radio purposes. In 1976 the Studio has initiated a series of concerts Electronic Music, presenting works of the eminent composers from all over the world. Composers invited to participate in that project were: Kevin Austin, Roman Berger, Richard Boulanger, Lars Gunnar Bodin, Krzysztof Czaja, Charles Dodge, Juraj Duris, Lejaren Hiller, Pierre Alain Jaffrennou, Wilfried Jentzsch, Zbigniew Karkowski, Tadeusz Kassatti, Daniel Kientzy, Piotr Kleczkowski, Włodzimierz Kotoński, Stanisław Krupowicz, Henryk Kuźniak, David Mason, Robin Minard, Yann Orlarey, Mark Polishook, Krzysztof Szlifirski, Daniel Teruggi, Iannius Xenakis, and Peter Zinovieff.

1989 was a turning point in the history of the Studio. The Fulbright Foundation has carried out its project in the Music Academy in Kraków. Over the next 8 years, five computer music specialists: Dr Ira Mowitz, Dr Richard Boulanger, Dr Cindy McTee, Dr Rodney Oakes, and Dr Mark Polishook have installed a complete computer music system based on Macintosh. They have also given lectures, seminars, concerts, TV and Radio programs concerning history, technology, and aesthetics of computer music.The following people and organizations have founded the additional Studio equipment: Dr Richard Boulanger, Berklee College of Music, Stendal Foundation, David Mason, Mark of the Unicorn, Shareware Music Machine, Coda Music Technology, Artistic Society “Muzyka Centrum”.

In 1991 the Studio has initiated and organized Courses for Computer Music in collaboration with the Music Academy in Warsaw. The courses took place in the following cities: Kraków in 1991, Warsaw in 1992, Katowice in 1993, and again Warsaw in 1994. In 2000 Prof. Marek Chołoniewski has become the head of the Studio and has coordinated the Kraków edition of the International ACANTHES 2000 Workshops, realised by IRCAM in Paris, and a common project of the three European Capitals of Culture: Kraków, Helsinki, and Avignion. Other projects were also initiated, among them “Education and Performance”, being a mix of didactics and performing activity. Many Polish composers, who have studied in the Studio, are now affiliated with the leading Computer Music Centers all over the world. Also many foreign composers are being invited to work in the Studio.

The Studio is coordinating many artistic, didactic, and research projects. In 2001 the Multimedia Studio was founded. In the years 2000-2003 the local computer network was established and the two existing Studios became connected with Multimedia Studio. That has opened a new research perspective concerning the audiovisual art. Already existing experience with the multichannel sound space was used at the creation process of video projects. The results were presented at the Studio concerts.

In June 2004 the Studio has initiated the procedure of establishing The Polish Society for Electroacoustic Music (PSeME). In 2005 PSeME has become a part of the International Confederation of Electroacoustic Music in Bourges (CIME). In January 2005 the Studio has started a cooperation with the European Committee projects: Integra – coordinated by Birmingham Conservatory in the frame of Culture 2000 program, and The European Course for Musical Composition and Technologies – coordinated by IRCAM in Paris in the frame of Leonardo da Vinci program. Both projects concern the migration and integration of live electronics with chamber music, and elaboration of a new education standard based on the union of contemporary composition and new technologies. In 2007 a new Recording Studio was initiated. Its objectives cover: recording, research, and education (sound engineering).