Department of Church Music

In 1997, Professor Jerzy Kurcz, the then Dean, launched a church music speciality at the Faculty of Music Education. To ensure the required minimum number of staff, he invited the following pedagogues to work together in the new Church Music Unit: Professor Leszek Werner, Professor Krzysztof Latała, PhD (head of the Church Music Unit in the years 1997-2000), Reverend Tadeusz Przybylski, PhD (habil.), SDB, Marek Wolak, PhD, and Reverend Robert Tyrała, PhD (habil.) (head of the unit in the years 2005-2010, head of the department since 2010). That group of teachers was then successively joined by Reverend Professor Kazimierz Szymonik, PhD (head of the Church Music Unit in the years 1999-2004), and Henryk Jan Botor, PhD. In 2009, Krzysztof Michałek, PhD (habil.), began to work at the Church Music Unit. In 2010, the Church Music Unit was replaced by the Department of Religious Music. In the academic year 2009/2010, the church music speciality ceased to exist.