KRAKÓW, (POLAND) ,  9th – 10th NOVEMBER, 2020

§ 1

1. The 2nd Jan Hoffman International Piano Competition is organized by the Academy of Music in Kraków, Poland.

2. The 2nd Jan Hoffman International Piano Competition, hereinafter called the Competition, shall be held on 9th – 10th November, 2020.

3. The purpose of the competition is to commemorate Jan Hoffman – the outstanding pianist, educator, jury member of many prestigious competitions, editor of the PWM publishing house, Rector of the Academy of Music in Kraków.

4. Jury of the Competition:
Jury Chairman: Professor Andrzej Pikul
Professor Joanna Ławrynowicz- Just
Assocciate Professor Milena Kędra
Director of the Competition: Elżbieta Hoffman, MA

§ 2

1. Participation in the Competition should be submitted by 3rd November, 2020, by posting the recordings on the Internet and sending the required documents by e-mail to the following address:
The instructions for uploading the recordings are specified in the Appendix 1 to the Regulations

2. The applications referred to in Point 1 must contain the following documents:
– the Application Form filled with the participant’s data (The form is available from the website of the Academy of Music in Kraków in the ‘Międzynarodowy Konkurs Pianistyczny im. Jana Hoffmana w Krakowie’ section: )
– A copy of the proof of the enrolment fee payment

The enrolment fee for the participants with Polish citizenship, in the amount of PLN 200, should be paid into the following bank account:
BANK PEKAO S.A. III Odział Kraków
41 1240 2294 1111 0000 3708 8240
with the inscription: ‘Konkurs Pianistyczny‘

The enrolment fee for the foreigner participants, in the amount of EUR 50, should be paid into the following bank account:
Bank PEKAO SA, III Oddział Kraków
IBAN: PL 41 1240 2294 1111 0000 3708 8240
with the inscription: ‘Konkurs Pianistyczny‘

3. The enrolment fee is not refundable.

§ 3

1. All candidates shall be notified of their admission to the Competition by e-mail until 4th October, 2020.

2. The competition shall be held in the following age categories:

category I –   age up to 9      ( born not earlier than 10 th November 2011)
category II –  age up to 12    ( born not earlier than 10 th November 2008)
category III – age up to 15   ( born not earlier than 10 th November 2005)\
category IV – age up to 19   ( born not earlier than 10 th November 2001)

category V –   open
categories I and III – one round
categories IV and V – two rounds

3. The participants in the Competition are obliged to perform:

category I and II

two pieces to be chosen from the scores edited by Jan Hoffman, issued by the PWM publishing house
one piece of free choice, composed by a Polish composer
Total performance time – max. 10 min.

category III

one study by one of the following composers:
C. Czerny, C. Cramer, M. Moszkowski, E. Pozzoli, F. Liszt
one piece in form of the sonata-allegro, rondo or variatons by a composer of the classical period,
one piece by a Polish composer
total performance time – max. 15 min.

category IV.

1st round:      

– one sonata by D. Scarlatti
– one virtuoso study or another virtuoso piece
– one piece of a free choice by a Polish composer, no longer than 10 min of time
total time of performance – max. 18 min

2nd round:

– a classic or romantic sonata
– a piece of free choice
total performance time – max. 45 min.

category V. 1st round:

– a piece (or pieces) by J. S. Bach or G. F. Haendel
– a virtuoso piece (or pieces)
– a piece (or pieces) by one of the following composers: Debussy, M. Ravel, S. Rachmaninoff, A. Skriabin, S. Prokofiev, K. Szymanowski, B. Bartók; alternatively, a piece composed in the 20th or 21st century, except for post romantic pieces and compositions involving non-standard use of the instrument.
total performance time – max. 45 min.

2nd round:
– a programme of free choice, excluding the works performed in the first round
total performance time – max. 45 min.

§ 4

1. All the pieces must be performed from memory – except for the pieces in the contemporary compositional techniques area.
2. The participants are obliged to prepare their performance based on original editions. The name of the publishing house should be given next to each piece submitted in the Application Form.
3. The Jury’s decisions shall be final and irrevocable, not subject to appeal.
4. The winners are required to perform in the final gala concert, which will be held in a stationary or online form, depending on the epidemiological situation at the place of the Competition organizer.
5. Joining the Competition shall mean the acceptance of all the terms and conditions stipulated in these Regulations. The participants in the Competition hereby confirm that they have read the information clause concerning the personal data protection, the full contents of which has been included in the Application Form.

§ 5

Inquiries about the Competition should be sent to the following Competition address:

Akademia Muzyczna w Krakowie
ul. św. Tomasza 43, 31-027 Kraków

Appendix 1

 Instructions for uploading recordings

Between 10th October and 3rd November 2020 the Competition participant should send links to the shared recording files to the e-mail address provided in the Regulations. Each file should contain a description that includes the candidate’s name and surname and the works performed.

The files should be the audio/video recordings in a quality that allows the Competition Jury to assess the performed material and to identify the candidate visually. If the quality of the recordings is too low, the Competition Organizer has the right to refuse to accept it.

As a reference, minimum quality parameters of the source recording file: video resolution 720p at 30fps frame rate and audio bitrate 256 kb/s.

It is recommended to split the recording material, i.e. each work to be recorded in a separate file.

The uploaded files must be available online from the October 10th till the November 11th, 2020

Removal or modification of the file by the participant, after sending the link to the competition secretary, will make the material evaluation by the Jury impossible.

The recordings will be made available to the Competition Jury via links after verification. The verification will include assessment of the quality of the materials provided as well as their compliance with the program of the Competition submitted in the form.

The Academy allows the use of any services that allow sharing and playing audio/video files without any need to download them and to use specialized software. The files should be possible to be played with a web browser, directly on the website, using the software embedded in the website. The reproduction of the provided material must be possible without additional authorization after using the link provided by the participant.

The YouTube is an example of a popular website that meets the expectations of the Academy.

Links to the instructions how to use it:
YouTube account creation:

uploading videos:

– Cooperator – Stowarzyszenie Kadry Kierowniczej i Nauczycieli Szkolnictwa Artystycznego
– Partner – Europejskie Centrum Muzyki Krzysztofa Pendereckiego W Lusławicach