Krzysztof Penderecki 1972-1987

Krzysztof PENDERECKI (1972-1987)b Dębica 23 September 1933

Rector of the PWSM (1972-79), Academy of Music [AM] (1979-87)
Composer, conductor and teacher
Doctor Honoris Causa of the Academy of Music in Kraków

In the years 1954-58 he studied composition with A. Malawski, and after his death with S. Wiechowicz at the PWSM in Kraków. He became a composition lecturer at his Alma Mater in 1958. He conducted many renowned orchestras of the world, such as Müncher Philharmoniker, Sinfonieorchester des Norddeutschen Rundfunks in Hamburg, Sinfonieorchester des Mitteldeutschen Rundfunks in Leipzig, London Symphony Orchestra, Philadelphia Orchestra, New York Philharmonic Orchestra, Japanese Radio Orchestra (NHK) in Tokyo, Philharmonic Orchestra in Osaka. Since 1988 he has been major guest conductor of Sinfonieorchester des Norddeutschen Rundfunks in Hamburg. The oeuvre of Krzysztof Penderecki covers operas (Devils of Loudun 1969; Black Mask1986; Ubu Rex 1991; sacra rappresentazione Paradise Lost 1978), orchestral works – 8 symphonies (No.1 1973, No.2 “Christmas” 1980, No.3 1988 – 1995, No.4 “Adagio” 1989, No.5 1992, No. 6 unfinnished, No.7 “Seven gates of Jerusalem” 1997; No.8 2005);Emanations for string orchestra 1959; Anaklasis for 42 strings and percussion 1959;Threnody “To the Victims of Hiroshima” for string orchestra 1960; Polymorphia for string orchestra 1961; Canon for 52 strings 1962; Fluorescencences 1962; De natura sonoris I1966, II 1971; The Awakening of Jacob 1974; concertos: 2 violin concertos (No.1 1976, No.2 “Metamorphoses” 1992 – 1995); 2 cello concertos (No.1 1972, No.2 1982); Concerto for viola solo and orchestra (1983; version for cello solo 1985; version for clarinet solo 1995); Concerto for flute and chamber orchestra 1992; Concerto grosso for three cellos and orchestra 2001; Piano Concerto “Resurrection” 2002; Partita for harpsichord and orchestra 1971 / 1991; numerous chamber and vocal-instrumental works, among them:Psalms of David for mixed choir, strings and pecussion 1959; Dimensions of Time and Silence for 40- voices choir, strings and percussion 1960; St. Luke’s Passion 1965; Dies Irae 1967; Cosmogony 1970; Utrenja I The Entombment of Christ 1970 and Utrenja II – Resurrection1971; Canticum canticorum Salomonis quod hebraice dictur… 1973;Magnificat 1974; Te Deum 1980; Polish Requiem 1980/93/2005; Credo 1998.

Among the students of K. Penderecki were K. Meyer, M. Stachowski and A. Korzeniowski. During K. Penderecki’s rectorship a Studio of Electroacoustic Music (1974) and Music Analysis and Interpretation Department (1975) were created, “Young Musicians for a Young City” Festival in Stalowa Wola (1975-79) was co organized, Musical Meetings in Baranów Sandomierski (1976-81) were initiated. On 28 September 1979 PWSM was renamed into the Academy of Music. In 1984 cooperation with Stendal Foundation (Switzerland) began, in 1985 Wanda Landowska National Harpsichord Competition was organized, while the year 1986 was the beginning of cooperation with International Bach Academy from Stuttgart, led by H. Rilling.

Maciej Jabłoński